[CommunityDiscussion] We ran a Tor ad a few days ago. Did anybody even notice?

Curious to hear others experiences with Tor Ads.

We ran an banner ad [wide skyscraper - 160x600] that produced these results:

Uptime: 48 hours Impressions: 13,700 + Clicks: 113

During the time this ad was active we had seen only two (new) customers that conceivably 'could' have come from this ad.

BTC spent: 0.2

Link to image of ad : https://www.anony.ws/image/DpFl Description of ad as site blocks Tor. Black and white pic. Seductively posed young lady person (not nude) with a pen and small puff of smoke. "CannaJuice purveryors of THC Vape Juice".... Did we mention the sexy thing?

Obviously the results we acheived were less than stellar. We are only now experimenting with DarkNet ads and do have a decent amount~ some experience with ~~Grams knock-off Google Adwords. So rather than dump BTC at TorAds and Gramwords we thought we'd open it up as a general discussion on shared experience, success and related things and stuff.

So, just how well do Gramswords and Tor Ads work for you?


Comments


[37 Points] CocaineNose:

This thread will probably have more of an impact than the ad did.


[14 Points] esterbrae:

Ads are a legacy of the past. The future does not include the kind of marketing used to push people to make poor decisions.

If you want to get awareness of your business out, instead of ads try to make sure you are accurately reflected in search results. Try to make sure that trusted reviewers or diarists get a sample of your product that they can review. Be available on multiple markets with a good product at a competitive price.


[6 Points] sapiophile:

Honestly, I think it's that ad's design that's hurting you more than anything else. It needs a lot of work. I mean this with utmost respect and I'm not trying to be a hater or inflate my ego or anything, and I hope you hear me on this.

I'd say play around with the ad a little more, maybe make another thread here later with a few of your proposed designs, and see what flies with the crowd here and what doesn't. Like photography, graphic design is 90% throwing shit away, so don't be afraid to do some experimenting and be prepared to cut what doesn't work.


[4 Points] Vendor_BBMC:

Clever.

Asking for advice on advertizing isn't strictly advertizing.

I like the way you work it.

No diggidy. I got to bag it up


[2 Points] None:

Never noticed it.


[2 Points] al_eberia:

Here is a mirror of the ad that you can view over Tor: https://a.pomf.se/qaofcj.png


[2 Points] Erthryol:

Uptime: 48 hours Impressions: 13,700 + Clicks: 113

Let's do a little aside on this for those that do not feel like doing it alone.

113/13700 = ~0.82% (clickthough)

1-2 / 113 = 0.89-1.77% (conversion)

0.2 BTC ~= $45 so..

$45/13.7k = $3.8 (CPM, Cost per 1000 impressions)

$45/113 = $0.40 (CPC, cost per click)

$45/1-2 = $22.5-$45 (Cost per conversion)

So.. there are the numbers a site owner or marketer would be standing in front of a group of serious looking men in suits (or ADHD-laden mountain dew guzzling innovators) and attempt to explain. I'll admit right up front I haven't had huge amount of experience, but I have both paid for ads and been paid to display ads. What would I say? Entirely unremarkable. If you're buying ads, they'll tell you they can get you about 2x that for the price, if you're selling ad space they'll tell you you can get about 2x that. If you're buying a magic +3 blessed Scroll of Advertizing ($49.99, guaranteed to one-click boost your ad performance (results not guaranteed)), they'll tell you it'll achieve around 4x that. In real life, the only thing that looks a meh is cost per conversion/conversion per click, but the one or two or perhaps zero number is shaky and not really high enough to be considered a firm statistic - you really have to have at least a few events before you can start counting on "events per". It's also well within the order of magnitude - the campaign is small enough that drawing a flat zero on conversions wouldn't be unexpectedly low and four or five, edging toward 5% would be amazing and toward 10 would be "I'm almost sure you're either lying about your stats, had an absolutely stellar placement, or both".

For what it's worth, these would have looked pretty bad five-ten years ago. Ads are "over" in the sense that the market has stabilized and you pay roughly for what you get. Sometimes a little more or less, but you don't get thousand percent ROIs 90% of the time anymore, opportunities like that were eaten by those in business then. At this point they do what they did here, work, chalk up a modest boost netting a little less than they cost in the short term and, hopefully, a bit more than they cost in the medium to long term. If they did more, prices would rise to meet this, if they did less they'd have to lower prices to have takers.


[2 Points] None:

[deleted]


[2 Points] Renver:

Just a few thoughts:

In my opinion, with ads these days, impressions are worth more than clicks. Someone may see that ad and think "I should check them out later," but very few people are going to click on it with the intention of buying right now.

So with that said, you can't know the total effect an ad has had on your business until some time has passed. If this ad ran yesterday, then there's a great chance that someone who saw this ad yesterday will check you out in a week when they feel like they want some vape juice.


[1 Points] halloahallo:

were you hosting it there? Because that site is blocking tor.


[1 Points] ShulginsCat:

I always thought it would be interesting to have a commission -free market that allows vendors to pay for ads or higher placement in the search results.


[1 Points] Cannoisseur_Reviews:

i saw it on Grams :) Looked good !


[1 Points] None:

could a vendor advertise their products on one of your ads?


[1 Points] holecloud:

never saw it


[1 Points] delta_eight:

I have adblock.


[1 Points] None:

[deleted]


[1 Points] h4egkr:

http://hustler.xp3.biz/annabelle6.gif


[-1 Points] landingzones:

ive never seen it. but im a noob so what do i know.